The John Ireland Charitable Trust

The John Ireland Charitable Trust was formed in 1968 to promote awareness of Ireland's works through recordings, performances and publications.

Any questions relating to the Trust should be directed to the Publicist, Karen Fletcher: 
Selected forthcoming concerts and events can be found on the 'Concerts' page, and recent recordings on the 'New Releases' page.

Latest News

Friday 5th - Sunday 7th June 2015: 'John Ireland and Landscape', forms part of Arts in Residence's weekend at Abingworth Hall Hotel, Storrington, Sussex, and includes Downland Suite, Legend for piano & orchestra, and Amberley Wild Brooks.

Facebook and Twitter

The John Ireland Trust has a presence on Facebook and Twitter. Facebook provides a friendly forum to interact with others who share an interest in the music of John Ireland, while Twitter is an instant way to keep in touch and share news about forthcoming concerts and latest recordings.  Simply click on the links provided on this page to be transfered to these sites.

A podcast from BBC Radio 3's 'Composer of the Week' series on John Ireland:

An informative blog on John Ireland by Fiona Richards:

'Satyricon' featured at the Moscow Conservatoire 

Esteemed Russian conductor, Gennady Rozhdestvensky completed a series of programmes devoted to English music entitled 'Foggy Albion' at the Moscow Conservatoire last year, with his State Symphony Capella Orchestra of Russia in the Great Hall of the Conservatory, Moscow

The following works featured:
Michael Tippett - Symphony No. 1 
Gustav Holst - Overture 'Walt Whitman'; The Planets for choir and orchestra 

Michael Tippett - Symphony No. 2 
John Ireland - Overture 'Satyricon' 
Arthur Bliss - Suite from the ballet 'Checkmate' 

Michael Tippett - Symphony No. 3 
Constant Lambert - The Rio Grande 
Frank Bridge - Symphonic Poem 'Isabella' 

Michael Tippett - Symphony No. 4 
Arnold Bax - Irish Landscape for violin and orchestra; The Truth about the Russian Dancers 

Latest recordings

see more on the New Releases page.

See the 'New Releases' page for further recordings.

Stainer & Bell has published the 6th and final volume of Ireland's piano music:

A pack of Ireland postcards, a mousemat and a handy mobile phone holder, all illustrated with Ireland's photo, can be found at Amazon (Germany):

Activities of the Trust include:

  • A unique five-day Festival entitled 'John Ireland in Chelsea' marked the 50th Anniversary of Ireland's death in 2012 and featured Ireland's own music alongside the work of his teacher Stanford, and his distinguished pupils: Benjamin Britten, E.J.Moeran, Alan Bush, Richard Arnell, Geoffrey Bush and Helen Perkin.  Festival artists included: Mark Bebbington, John Lenehan, Julian Lloyd Webber, Rupert Marshall-Luck, Timothy West, Roderick Williams, the London Soloists Ensemble, East London Brass, the Berkeley Ensemble, David Wordsworth and the Addison Singers, and the Choirs of St Luke’s and Holy Trinity, Chelsea.
  • Funding of annual performance competitions at nine major music colleges in the UK. These competitions have recently been extended to two universities in the USA.  The most recent took place at the Birmingham Conservatoire in July 2013.
  • Supporting selected recordings not only of Ireland's music but also that of other British composers.
  • Support is given, where possible, to recitals and festivals featuring Ireland's work, and programme notes can be provided.
  • The Trust has commissioned arrangements and editions of Ireland's music by Geoffrey Bush and the late Christopher Palmer.
  • A catalogue of John Ireland works, compiled by Dr. Stewart Craggs, was published by OUP in 1993 (available from the Trust).
  • The Trust maintains a large archive of copy manuscripts, printed music, recordings and memorabilia.
  • All of Ireland's known manuscripts, previously held by the Trust, are available at the British Library and can be consulted there by appointment.

During his lifetime Ireland worked with many publishers and this is reflected in the distribution of his works today, see 'Works'.

  • Early recordings, including interviews with Ireland and the composer as performer, are available at the National Sound Archive, by appointment.
  • Following an approach by the Trust to English Heritage, a 'Blue Plaque' was placed at 14 Gunter Grove, Ireland's London home for many years, in recognition of the composer.


The Trust is registered as a charity. Reg. No. 255004
Trustees: Erwin Mulholland, Graham Parlett, Carol Phillips.

Web design by Sparticle